Secondary school education is offered from Year 9 (age 13) through to Year 13 (age 17). International students can enrol at secondary schools at any level including senior studies in their 12th and 13th Year (from 16-17 years) as preparation for tertiary study in New Zealand. However, students are encouraged to enrol at junior levels (Year 9-10) as this provides a better foundation for university study.

There are eleven Secondary Schools in the Manawatu region:

 Accommodation Type



Awatapu College

 Homestay  13+

Dannevirke High School

 Homestay  13+

Feilding High School

 Homestay or Hostel  12+

Freyberg High School

 Homestay  13+

Horowhenua College

 Homestay  12+

Longburn Adventist College

 Hostel  12+

Manawatu College

 Homestay  13+

Palmerston North Boys' High School

 Homestay  13+

Palmerston North Girls' High School

 Homestay  13+

Queen Elizabeth College

 Homestay  12+

St. Peter's College

 Homestay  11+




  China   Japan   South Koria    Thailand   Brazil
nzte visionmanawatu studentcity Destination manawatu educationnz
Palmerston North Web Designers